Calendar

Breeze through our list of upcoming events and happenings for ways you can enjoy the Southampton Historical Museum.

UPCOMING

Thursday, October 19 11:00AM RESERVE SPACE

When Church and State were the State: Puritans, Theocracy, and the Origins of American

Fr. Patrick Edwards begins with the Calvinist view of predestination which created uncertainty about achieving a place among the elect. He examines the psychological and social pressures that are the consequences of that uncertainty as well as the legacy/curse of governance and Cromwell in England. He explores and links the incidents that have had a particular impact on American polity and jurisprudence—the rise of Congregational and Presbyterian sensibilities of rebirth and regenerate life, indications of election and the ability for individuals to claim divine revelation.
LOCATION: Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane, SH
DATES & TIMES: Thursday, October 19, 11am
FEE: Free admission

Saturday, October 21 03:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Mourning the Victorian Way: A Funeral Reenactment and Graveyard Tour

In the 19th century, death and funerals took place at home. Join us in the Music Room at the Rogers Mansion as we recreate an 1880s funeral service and discuss the funerary customs of 19th century Southampton. The Music room will be draped in black crepe, mirrors and windows will be covered so the deceased’s soul will not be detained and clocks will be stopped at the moment of death. After the wake, mourners will follow the coffin to nearby North End Cemetery, for the tour of the burying grounds. 19th-century mourning attire is encouraged. Reservations are required, please call the Museum at 631-283-2494.
LOCATION: Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane
DATE & TIME: Saturday, October 21, 3:00 PM – 5:30 PM
FEE: $25 for adults; RSVP REQUIRED 631 283-2494, limited admission

Thursday, October 26 04:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Celebrating a Century with Southampton’s Polish Community

Come to the Rogers Mansion, located at 17 Meeting House Lane and hear from the descendants of the original 29 families who emigrated to Southampton: their contribution to the Community. Cocktail reception to follow.
DATES & TIMES: Thursday, October 26 4:00 PM panel; 5:00 PM reception
FEE: Free Admission
TO REGISTER: Please call the Museum at 631-283-2494

PREVIOUS

Saturday, October 14 11:00AM Harvest Fair
Thursday, October 12 05:30PM Introduction to Chalk Paint with Shannon Willey
Thursday, October 12 11:00AM Theodore Roosevelt’s Sagamore Hill
Saturday, October 7 05:00PM Ties & Tails
Saturday, October 7 09:30AM Paws on Parade
Thursday, October 5 06:00PM Working with Wampum: Workshop for Pendants & Earrings with Doug Goodale
Thursday, October 5 11:00AM Founding Families and Their Descendants: 1640-1940
Saturday, September 30 06:00PM Jewelry Making Classes
Saturday, September 30 09:00AM ROGERS MANSION COMMUNITY YARD SALE
Thursday, September 28 03:30PM The Long Island Rail Road In Southampton
Saturday, September 16 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, September 9 05:30PM Late Summer Cocktail Party
Saturday, September 2 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, August 26 04:00PM Readings at Sunset with Tammy Nuzzo-Morgan, Long Island’s Poet of the Year
Tuesday, August 22 03:30PM Learn a Whaler’s Skill: Sailor Valentines
Saturday, August 19 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Thursday, August 17 04:00PM The Landmarks of New York
Tuesday, August 15 03:30PM Learn a Whaler’s Skill: Scrimshaw Art
Saturday, August 12 10:00AM 11th Annual Southampton Antique Auto Show
Tuesday, August 8 03:30PM Learn a Whaler’s Skill: Herb Garden Sachets
Saturday, August 5 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Friday, August 4 05:00PM Jewelry Making Classes
Tuesday, August 1 03:30PM Learn a Whaler’s Skill: Sewing & Knot Tying
Tuesday, August 1 11:00AM A Walking Tour of Water Mill
Saturday, July 29 04:00PM Readings at Sunset with Tammy Nuzzo-Morgan, Long Island’s Poet of the Year
Saturday, July 22 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Thursday, July 20 05:00PM Pelletreau Shop & Garden Open House
Thursday, July 20 11:00AM From Big House to Bad House – How Authenticity Lost Its Way
Thursday, July 13 11:00AM Winning Votes for Women: A Centennial Remembrance
Saturday, July 8 05:30PM HALSEY HOUSE GALA 2017: Celebrating Southampton’s Oldest Home
Saturday, July 8 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, July 1 05:00PM Degas’ Famous “Little Dancer” and How it Influenced Modern Art
Saturday, June 24 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, June 10 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Friday, June 9 05:00PM Jewelry Making Classes
Friday, June 9 10:00AM Moby Dick Reading Marathon
Thursday, June 8 01:00PM The Men Who Hunted the Whale: Southampton’s Many Sea Captains
Saturday, June 3 04:30PM 8th Annual Southampton House Tour “Insider’s View”
Thursday, June 1 11:00AM A Maritime Walking Tour of Sag Harbor
Saturday, May 27 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Thursday, May 18 06:00PM Spring Open House at the Rogers Mansion
Thursday, May 18 11:00AM Captain Henry Green, Long Island Whaler and Treasure Hunter
Saturday, May 13 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Friday, May 12 06:00PM Freedom Sisters and Suffragists
Thursday, May 4 11:00AM How Many A Tale Their Music Tells: Songs, Stories, and Poems of East End Whalemen
Thursday, April 27 11:00AM A Visit with Author Sharon Atkins
Thursday, April 13 03:00PM Eastville’s Whalers
Monday, April 10 05:30PM Fifteen Shades of Grey: The Lusitania, the Sussex & America’s Ambivalent Road into World War I
Friday, April 7 04:00PM Jewelry Making Classes
Thursday, March 23 11:00AM Shinnecock Culture & Whaling History with David Bunn Martine
Saturday, March 4 04:00PM Hunting the Whale: The Rise and Fall of a Southampton Industry
Saturday, February 25 05:00PM Literature and Libations with Tammy Nuzzo-Morgan
Wednesday, February 22 12:00PM To Possess A Human Soul: Slavery and the American Presidency with Marilyn Carminio
Saturday, February 11 02:00PM “Love Letters” a play by A.R. Gurney performed by Andrew Botsford & Jane Baldwin
Friday, February 10 04:00PM Jewelry Making Classes