Calendar

Breeze through our list of upcoming events and happenings for ways you can enjoy the Southampton Historical Museum.

UPCOMING

Saturday, September 20 10:00AM RESERVE SPACE

Southampton Garden Club Flower Show & Tour

The Southampton Garden Club invites you to attend a GCA Flower Show titled “Try to Remember the Kind of September . . .” and visit their boutique. There will also be a garden tour that will take place between 12 and 4 pm. Tickets for the tour are $50 per person and may be purchased at the Southampton Arts Center or by going online at www.sgcny.org. Show is open to the public and free of charge, $50 per person for Garden Tour. Location: Southampton Arts Center, 25 Jobs Lane, Southampton.

Saturday, September 27 11:00AM RESERVE SPACE

Harvest Day Fair

The Southampton Historical Museum, located at 17 Meeting House Lane, celebrates life during the 19th century in Southampton with a variety of activities that harkens back to a simpler, hands on era where both adults and children alike pitched in to make an income for the family and to make a sustainable home life. This annual event will have costumed trade and craft people demonstrating decoy carving, beekeeping, blacksmithing, candle making, basketry, and many other traditional skills. There will be Civil War re-enactors making camp, shooting rifles, and parading, plus an 1850′s Whaling Captain wedding.

Sunday, September 28 09:00AM RESERVE SPACE

SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR; RED DOT SALE

Antiques, furniture, jewelry, vintage clothing, glass, ceramics, artwork, collectables and more will be sold inside the Red Barn and on the grounds of the Rogers Mansion at 17 Meeting House Lane, Southampton. Since it is the final fair of the season, there will be a Red Dot Sale on all consignment items in the Red Barn. Vendors needed, for more info call (631) 283-2494.  The Rogers Mansion will be open 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM. Free admission into the fair, $4 fee into the museum for non-members, free for members and children 17 years and younger.

Saturday, October 4 01:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Fiesta Latina!

Join us at the Rogers Mansion at 17 Meeting House Lane for an afternoon of family fun, including games, food and music – all with a Latin theme. Free admission, no advance registration required and for more information, please call (631) 283-2494.

Saturday, October 4 03:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Opening Reception: “Families & Their Four-legged Friends” Paintings by Dinah Maxwell Smith

“Paintings by Dinah Maxwell Smith” reveals the artist’s wonderful contemporary impressions of Southampton’s landscapes, Long Island beach scenes, horses, and dogs. Her work is inspired by historic photographs and is about gesture, stance, and happenstance, and capturing a moment or the quirkiness of the human condition. Dinah has been listed in Who’s Who of American Art for the past 20 years and is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design in Providence. Her work has been shown extensively in the Hamptons, New York, Germany, and France. This exhibit’s opening reception will be held on Saturday, October 4th, 3 to 5 pm, and it will run from Saturday, October 4th, through Wednesday, December 31st, 2014. The free opening reception will take place at the Rogers Mansion (17 Meeting House Lane, SH) and light refreshments will be served.

Thursday, October 9 11:00AM RESERVE SPACE

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis with Marilyn Carminio

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’s public persona as legendary First Lady and style icon is instantly recognizable.  But who was this woman behind the myth of her celebrity?  Sponsored by the Rogers Memorial Library and the Southampton Historical Museum, this presentation, told through over 100 photographs – many rare – covers Jackie’s life as a bibliophile, equestrian, wife, mother, First Lady, preservationist, editor and family matriarch.  It takes place in the Music Room of the Rogers Mansion at 17 Meeting House Lane, Southampton, and after the talk, there will be a gallery tour of Southampton Blue Book, 1930-1960: Photographs by Bert Morgan followed by lunch.  The fee is $5, and reservations are required by Tuesday, October 7th.  Please call the Museum at (631) 283-2494 to register.

Friday, October 31 04:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin

In this Adult Workshop students will learn the basics of jewelry making over an eight-week course, ranging from sculpting wax and soldering to polishing and setting stones. Master Jeweler Eric Messin will take you step by step to create a beautiful piece of jewelry that will be finished and ready to be worn at the end of the course. These classes take place at the historic Pelletreau Silver Shop, located at 80 Main Street, Southampton Village. The fee, which includes supplies, is $365 for members and $385 for non-members. To register for the class please call the Museum at (631) 283-2494. Come learn and have fun! Classes will run every Friday, from Friday, October 31, to Friday, December 19, 4:00 – 6:00 PM.

Saturday, November 1 10:00AM RESERVE SPACE

Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin

In this Adult Workshop students will learn the basics of jewelry making over an eight-week course, ranging from sculpting wax and soldering to polishing and setting stones. Master Jeweler Eric Messin will take you step by step to create a beautiful piece of jewelry that will be finished and ready to be worn at the end of the course. These classes take place at the historic Pelletreau Silver Shop, located at 80 Main Street, Southampton Village. The fee, which includes supplies, is $365 for members and $385 for non-members. To register for the class please call the Museum at (631) 283-2494. Come learn and have fun! Classes will run every Saturday, from Saturday, November 1, to Saturday, December 20, 10:00 AM – 12 Noon.

Thursday, November 13 06:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Traditional Holiday Pies Made Easy with Stacy Dermont Senior Editor, Dan’s Papers

Please join the Southampton Historical Museum and the Rogers Memorial Library in a fun pie making workshop at the Rogers Mansion (17 Meeting House Lane), just in time for the holidays. Dan’s Papers restaurant critic and popular “Hamptons Epicure” columnist Stacy Dermont will lead the class in making apple, pumpkin and mincemeat (vegetarian) pies from local fruits. Dermont grew up on a farm in Western New York where she learned to make pies like her great-great grandmother did—with the best local ingredients and “no fuss, no muss”. Participants will help in forming pies and will leave not only with detailed recipes, but with one full-size pie to bake at home as well. Coffee and dessert will be served! Class size is limited, so call the Museum at (631) 283-2494 Wednesday thru Saturday to reserve your space. Payment at registration. $25 Members, $35 Non-Members – all major credit cards are accepted.

Thursday, November 20 06:00PM RESERVE SPACE

Pinecone Holiday Tree Workshop with Florence Rewinski

Please join the Southampton Historical Museum and the Rogers Memorial Library in a Pinecone Holiday Tree Workshop that will take place at the Rogers Mansion (17 Meeting House Lane). Join your friends for wine & Cheese and an evening constructing a beautiful pinecone holiday tree for your home. Bring your own scissors, wire cutter, hot glue gun, glue sticks and floral picks. We’ll provide the rest. Class size is limited, so call the Museum at (631)283-2494 Wednesday thru Saturday to reserve your space. Payment at registration. $25 Members, $35 Non-Members – all major credit cards are accepted.

PREVIOUS

Sunday, September 14 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, September 6 05:30PM Late Summer Cocktail Party
Saturday, September 6 10:00AM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Friday, September 5 04:00PM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Sunday, August 31 09:00AM Southampton Antique Fair
Saturday, August 30 03:00PM Emma’s Garden Party!
Wednesday, August 27 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Saturday, August 23 04:00PM Yappy Hour
Wednesday, August 20 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Sunday, August 17 11:00AM North Sea Burial Grounds with John Griffin
Sunday, August 17 09:00AM Southampton Antique Fair
Saturday, August 16 01:00PM Shecky’s “Girls Day Out” Benefiting the Southampton Historical Museum
Thursday, August 14 05:00PM 2nd Annual Samuel L. Parrish Lecture – The Orchard: Stanford White’s Masterpiece
Wednesday, August 13 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Sunday, August 10 11:00AM Conscience Point Nature Walk with Howard Reisman
Saturday, August 9 10:00AM 7th Annual Southampton Antique Auto Show
Wednesday, August 6 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Sunday, August 3 11:00AM Ox Pasture with Ric Stott, AIA Peconic
Sunday, August 3 09:00AM Southampton Antique Fair
Wednesday, July 30 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Sunday, July 27 03:00PM The Founding of the Southampton’s Summer Colony
Wednesday, July 23 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Sunday, July 20 05:00PM “WE LOVE A PIANO” Pianofest in the Hamptons
Sunday, July 20 11:00AM Wyndecote’s Renovation by Architect John David Rose
Sunday, July 20 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, July 19 09:00AM Antique Fire Truck Show and Volunteer Fireman Recruiting Day
Friday, July 18 06:00PM Malteser – Legacy of Hope
Wednesday, July 16 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Saturday, July 12 10:00AM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Friday, July 11 06:00PM Jewelry Making Workshop with Eric Messin
Wednesday, July 9 05:00PM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Wednesday, July 9 03:30PM Meet Mary Rogers
Sunday, July 6 09:00AM St. Andrew’s Dune Church with Roger Blaugh
Sunday, July 6 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, July 5 06:00PM Halsey House Gala
Sunday, June 29 11:00AM Foster Crossing with Curator Emma Ballou
Sunday, June 22 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Thursday, June 19 06:00PM One Step Paint Workshop by “Sea Green Designs”
Saturday, June 14 04:00PM Sayre Barn Grand Reopening
Saturday, June 14 04:00PM Exhibit Opening Reception: Deconstructing the Sayre Barn: Photographs by Ulf Skogsbergh
Friday, June 13 05:13PM Charles & Tee Addams House Benefit Cocktail Party in Sagaponack
Sunday, June 8 09:00AM SOUTHAMPTON ANTIQUE FAIR
Saturday, June 7 04:00PM Exhibit Opening Reception: Southampton Blue Book, 1930 to 1960: Photographs by Bert Morgan
Saturday, June 7 04:00PM Exhibit Opening Reception: Hail to the Beach: Paintings by Dinah Maxwell Smith
Saturday, May 31 01:00PM 5th Annual Southampton House Tour: an “Insider’s View”
Sunday, May 25 09:00AM Southampton Antique Fair
Sunday, May 11 09:00AM Southampton Antique Fair
Saturday, May 10 10:00AM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Friday, May 9 06:00PM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Thursday, May 8 11:00AM Talking History: Conversations with Local Residents – LOVE STORIES
Sunday, April 27 12:00PM Green Your East End Wedding Showcase
Thursday, April 17 04:00PM 1st Annual Captain Albert Rogers Lecture & Reception
Saturday, April 12 02:00PM Preserved on the Mighty Waters: Indians, Maritime Social Networks
Friday, March 28 11:00AM Field School in Archaeology Survey Methods at Sylvestor Manor
Saturday, March 22 02:00PM Pyrrhus Concer’s 200th Birthday Celebration
Thursday, March 20 06:00PM Basket Making Workshop
Sunday, March 16 10:00AM Stone Setting Workshop with Eric Messin
Saturday, March 15 10:00AM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Friday, March 14 06:00PM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Thursday, February 6 06:30PM Linzer Tart Baking Workshop
Saturday, January 18 10:00AM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin
Friday, January 17 04:00PM Jewelry Making Classes with Eric Messin