Special Events

The Southampton Historical Museum is widely recognized for organizing some of the most loved social events in the Hamptons. Raising funds in support of local history doesn’t have to be stuffy. We hope you join us at our next event.

The Town of Southampton Journaling Project!

DATES: January 1 through December 31, 2015 (Sign up by December 31, 2014)

play 14538837588_bcad35e219_k

Commit to writing at least 2 sentences every day for 1 year! The Southampton Historical Museum challenges you to keep a journal of your day’s activities (the mundane and the thrilling) for 1 whole year! By registering for this program you will be able to take part in a major exhibit, connect with your community, participate in a share-a-thon, and have your journal entered into the Museum’s Archives to be treasured by future generations. Do you accept the challenge? This program and exhibit were inspired by an 1831 diary from a historic Southampton resident, James Harvey Foster. The exhibit will be displayed at the Rogers Mansion in the Spring & Summer of 2016. This program is only open to the residents of the Town of Southampton and participants must sign up by December 31, 2014. Call 631-283-2494 or email eballou@southamptonhistoricalmuseum.org to register.

Jewelry Making Class Schedule for 2014

play Jewelry Making Shop Interior Special Event

Students will learn the basics of jewelry making, from sculpting wax and soldering to setting stones and polishing, over an eight-week course. Master Jeweler Eric Messin will take you step by step to create a piece of jewelry that will be finished and ready to be worn. These classes take place at the historic Pelletreau Silver Shop in Southampton Village. The fee, which includes supplies, is $365 for members and $385 for non-members. To register for the class please call the Museum at 631-283-2494. Come learn and have fun.

SESSION 1: Friday, January 17 – Friday, March 7, 4pm –6pm
or Saturday, January 18 – Saturday, March 8,  10am—12pm

SESSION 2: Friday, March 14– Friday, May 2, 4pm-6pm
or Saturday March 15 – Saturday, May 3, 10am—12pm

SESSION 3: Friday, May 9 – Friday, June 27, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, May 10 – Saturday, June 28, 10am-12pm

SESSION 4: Friday, July 11 – Friday, August 29, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, July 12 – Saturday, August 30, 10am—12pm

SESSION 5: Friday, September 5 – Friday, October 24, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, September 6 – Saturday, October 25, 10am—12pm

SESSION 6: Friday, October 31– Friday, December 19, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, November 1 – Saturday, December 20, 10am—12pm