Special Events

The Southampton Historical Museum is widely recognized for organizing some of the most loved social events in the Hamptons. Raising funds in support of local history doesn’t have to be stuffy. We hope you join us at our next event.

FELTING WORKSHOP – A Valentine Heart

DATES: Thursday, February 5: 6:00 – 8:00 PM

play 2 felt hearts

Learn the 19th century craft of felting at a workshop lead by Suzanne Flanagan at the Rogers Memorial Library, 91 Cooper Farm Road. Come learn the old art of felting and how to create a vintage style Heart for your special someone then come join us for some tea and dessert. Workshop fee is $25 Members, $35 Non-Members. Reserve early as the class size is limited. To register, please call the Museum at 631-283-2494 (Wednesday – Saturday 11-4). Payment is required at registration. All major credit cards accepted.


Workshop Fee




TEA TOWEL WORKSHOP – “The Thomas Halsey Homestead”

DATES: Thursday, March 5: 6:00 – 8:00 PM

play IMG_3996

Make a tea towel with Suzanne Flanagan & Sherrill Adams to commemorate Southampton’s 375th Anniversary with a Thomas Halsey Homestead tea towel. Join us at the (Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane) and learn how to create this historic keepsake towel and join us for some tea and dessert. Workshop fee is $25 Members, $35 Non-Members. Reserve early as the class size is limited. To register, please call the Museum at 631-283-2494 (Wednesday – Saturday 11-4). Payment required at registration. All major credit cards accepted.


Workshop Fee




TOSCANA POWDER PAINT WORKSHOP

DATES: Thursday, March 19: 6:00 – 8:00 P.M.

play 4 tocanda paint

Learn the secret painting techniques at an “Amy Howard” Toscana Powder Paint Workshop with Shannon Wiley of Sea Green Designs at the Rogers Mansion (17 Meeting House Lane). Commemorate Southampton’s 375th Anniversary and learn about this historic natural milk paint that has been around for hundreds of years and the process of applying it to your furniture. Each participant will leave with a commemorative plaque that they have finished using this paint method as a keepsake. Coffee, tea and dessert will be served. Reserve early as the class size is limited. To register, please call the Museum at 631-283-2494 (Wednesday – Saturday 11-4). Payment required at registration. All major credit cards accepted.


Workshop Fee




Jewelry Making Class Schedule for 2015

play Jewelry Making Shop Interior Special Event

Students will learn the basics of jewelry making, from sculpting wax and soldering to setting stones and polishing, over an eight-week course. Master Jeweler Eric Messin will take you step by step to create a piece of jewelry that will be finished and ready to be worn. These classes take place at the historic Pelletreau Silver Shop in Southampton Village. The fee, which includes supplies, is $365 for members and $385 for non-members. To register for the class please call the Museum at 631-283-2494. Come learn and have fun.

SESSION 1: Friday, January 16 – Friday, March 6, 4pm –6pm
or Saturday, January 17 – Saturday, March 7,  10am—12pm

SESSION 2: Friday, March 13– Friday, May 1, 4pm-6pm
or Saturday March 14 – Saturday, May 2, 10am—12pm

SESSION 3: Friday, May 8 – Friday, June 26, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, May 9 – Saturday, June 27, 10am-12pm

SESSION 4: Friday, July 10 – Friday, August 28, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, July 11 – Saturday, August 29, 10am—12pm

SESSION 5: Friday, September 4 – Friday, October 23, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, September 5 – Saturday, October 24, 10am—12pm

SESSION 6: Friday, October 30 – Friday, December 18, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, October 31 – Saturday, December 19, 10am—12pm
 


Jewelry Making Class
Please note which Session:



Rogers Mansion Closed Until March 4th, 2015!

play rogers mansion 20141223

The Rogers Mansion will be closed for January and February 2015! We will re-open on Wednesday, March 4, 2015. Considering that 2015 is the 375th anniversary of the founding of Southampton, we’ve got a lot to prepare for. We already have over 40 classes, lectures, workshops, and events scheduled and every one of them will meld together both the historical and modern aspects of life in our town. So even though we are closed, we are still working away! Give us a call at 631-283-2494 or email: lcollins@southamptonhistoricalmuseum.org if you have questions or would like to make an appointment to come in.