Special Events

The Southampton Historical Museum is widely recognized for organizing some of the most loved social events in the Hamptons. Raising funds in support of local history doesn’t have to be stuffy. We hope you join us at our next event.

Mourning the Victorian Way: A Funeral Reenactment and Graveyard Tour

DATES: Saturday, October 29th 3-5:30PM


funeral-reenactmentIn the 19th century, death and funerals took place at home. Join us in the Music Room at the Rogers Mansion as we recreate an 1880s funeral service and discuss the funerary customs of 19th century Southampton. The Music room will be draped in black crepe, mirrors and windows will be covered so the deceased’s soul will not be detained and clocks will be stopped at the moment of death. After the wake, mourners will follow the coffin to nearby North End Cemetery, for the tour of the burying grounds. 19th century mourning attire is encouraged, there will be a $10 discount for participants who wear all black. To register please call the Museum at 631-283-2494.
LOCATION: Music Room Parlor of the Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane
FEE: $25 for adults ($10 discount for guests that wear all black) free for children, RSVP 631 283-2494, limited admission

Hearthside Cheer 2016

DATES: Saturday, December 10th 5:30-7:30pm


Celebrate the pleasures of the holiday season at the Captain Albert Rogers Mansion built in 1843 by a successful whaling captain. The Greek Revival Mansion will be filled with bountiful hors d’oeuvres by Schmidt’s Market, sumptuous sweets and a bar. The Music Room will be filled with holiday cheer with a sing-a-long of contemporary and traditional holiday songs around a baby grand piano. The parlors and sitting rooms will be festooned with garlands of fresh winter greens and flowers. Colorful antique holiday decorations can be seen on the many trees that decorate the many reception rooms in the Mansion. To order tickets please call the Museum at 631-283-2494.
FEE: $50 members, $60 non-members, RSVP 283-2494 or use paypal
LOCATION: Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane, Southampton Village


Jewelry Making Class Schedule for 2016

play Jewelry Making Shop Interior Special Event

Students will learn the basics of jewelry making, from sculpting wax and soldering to setting stones and polishing, over an eight-week course. Master Jeweler Eric Messin will take you step by step to create a piece of jewelry that will be finished and ready to be worn. These classes take place at the historic Pelletreau Silver Shop in Southampton Village. The fee, which includes supplies, is $365 for members and $385 for non-members. To register for the class please call the Museum at 631-283-2494. Come learn and have fun.

SESSION 1: Friday, January 15 – Friday, March 04, 4pm –6pm
or Saturday, January 16 – Saturday, March 05,  10am—12pm

SESSION 2: Friday, March 11– Friday, April 29, 4pm-6pm
or Saturday March 12 – Saturday, April 30, 10am—12pm

SESSION 3: Friday, May 06 – Friday, June 24, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, May 07 – Saturday, June 25, 10am-12pm

SESSION 4: Friday, July 01 – Friday, August 19, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, July 02 – Saturday, August 20, 10am—12pm

SESSION 5: Friday, August 26 – Friday, October 14, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, August 27 – Saturday, October 15, 10am—12pm

SESSION 6: Friday, October 21 – Friday, December 09, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, October 22 – Saturday, December 10, 10am—12pm

Jewelry Making Class
Please note which Session: