Special Events

The Southampton Historical Museum is widely recognized for organizing some of the most loved social events in the Hamptons. Raising funds in support of local history doesn’t have to be stuffy. We hope you join us at our next event.

Harvest Day Fair

DATES: SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 27: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

play IMG_8044

The Southampton Historical Museum celebrates life during the 19th century in Southampton with a variety of activities that harkens back to a simpler, hands on era where both adults and children alike pitched in to make an income for the family and to make a sustainable home life. This annual event will have costumed trade and craft people demonstrating decoy carving, beekeeping, blacksmithing, candle making, basketry, and many other traditional skills.
There will be Civil War re-enactors making camp, shooting rifles, and parading, plus a re-enactment of a Whaling Captain Wedding taking place at 3:00 pm. The Whaling Captain Wedding reenactment will feature the 1850 marriage of Captain George White and Elizabeth Fordam. Captain White was a whaling captain who, after success in the gold rush of “49,” came home to marry his sweetheart. The wedding begins with the bride getting dressed, a promenade to the ceremony, a reception with dancing, music, and cake, and finally the throwing the bouquet. Our Fabulous Variety Show will be putting on the performance and the music will be performed by the Feinberg Brothers 5 piece string band.

Fiesta Latina!

DATES: SATURDAY, OCTOBER 4: 1:00 - 3:00 PM

play 9. Fiesta Latina

Join us for an afternoon of family fun all with a Latin theme at the Rogers Mansion Museum Complex, 17 Meeting House Lane. Enjoy children’s games, Spanish food, mariachi music and colorful flamenco dancers. Sponsored by Rogers Memorial Library and the Southampton Historical Museum. Free Admission

Hearthside Cheer – Tickets

DATES: SATURDAY, DECEMBER 6: 5:30 - 7:30 PM

play Xmas South Parlor 2

Celebrate the pleasures of the holiday season in a Greek-revival mansion (The Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane) decorated with winter garlands, flowers and antique ornaments. Bountiful hors d’oeuvres will be served with sumptuous sweets and generous libations. A Christmas carol sing-a-long is a perennial favorite. $50 in advance/$60 at the door.

Purchase Individual Tickets

For more than 4 Tickets, please call the museum office: 631.283.2494







Jewelry Making Class Schedule for 2014

play Jewelry Making Shop Interior Special Event

Students will learn the basics of jewelry making, from sculpting wax and soldering to setting stones and polishing, over an eight-week course. Master Jeweler Eric Messin will take you step by step to create a piece of jewelry that will be finished and ready to be worn. These classes take place at the historic Pelletreau Silver Shop in Southampton Village. The fee, which includes supplies, is $365 for members and $385 for non-members. To register for the class please call the Museum at 631-283-2494. Come learn and have fun.

SESSION 1: Friday, January 17 – Friday, March 7, 4pm –6pm
or Saturday, January 18 – Saturday, March 8,  10am—12pm

SESSION 2: Friday, March 14– Friday, May 2, 4pm-6pm
or Saturday March 15 – Saturday, May 3, 10am—12pm

SESSION 3: Friday, May 9 – Friday, June 27, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, May 10 – Saturday, June 28, 10am-12pm

SESSION 4: Friday, July 11 – Friday, August 29, 6pm—8pm
or Saturday, July 12 – Saturday, August 30, 10am—12pm

SESSION 5: Friday, September 5 – Friday, October 24, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, September 6 – Saturday, October 25, 10am—12pm

SESSION 6: Friday, October 31– Friday, December 19, 4pm—6pm
or Saturday, November 1 – Saturday, December 20, 10am—12pm